Raspberri Pi 2

The Raspberry Pi 1 was not working with my AEON Labs USB stick, Maybe because I am not a linux expert, anyway, the new Raspberry Pi 2 seems that has enough power to run it. Isn’t it?

Low voltage consumption, 4 USB, yes it doesn’t have wifi, but you can add a wifi usb stick which works well, slow but well.

I’m not sure about the AEON Labs z-wave stick, but I can confirm OpenHAB runs just fine on the Raspberry Pi 1 and 2. My main openhab installation is on a rpi1 with one of these for z-wave: http://razberry.z-wave.me/

Aeon Labs sticks works with Raspberry Pi 2, I use both a z-stick and wifi adapter together in the Pi 2.

I had a raspberry pi 1 with a aeon zwave stick. Never had troubles
Did you Just buy this, maybe New version?

Also confirming AEON Z-stick and Pi 2 works like a charm.

I’m running RPI 1 with Archlinux and AEON Labs Zwave-stick for 1 or 2 years now. I don’t see a reason why the RPI 2 would be different. Linux just sees it as a serial port. Sometimes I have a slight delay in responsiveness, but I never investigated it. Maybe with RPI 2 it will be gone. (could also be the slow serial interface or Z-Wave stack which introduces it)

I find the AEON a bit “bulky” and expensive for 10$ of hardware. If it would be a well manufactured product (like the fibaro dimmers) I don’t mind spending > 50 euro’s on it but it’s nothing special. Did anyone ever try this cheaper z-wave.me stick?

I have been running OpenHAB 2 on a Pi B+, and now on a Pi 2. The Pi 2 is notably faster with more cpus and more memory. Both have run with multiple Aeon Labs Z stick S2s.

Good luck and let me know if I can help in any way.

I can’t get my openHAB installation to see my Z-stick gen5 that is plugged into my Raspberry Pi 2? What port did you use? I’ve tried these: “/dev/ttyS0” or “/dev/ttyUSB0” and “/dev/ttyACM” and “/dev/ttyACM0”.

pi2 with rasbian is showing up at /dev/ttyUSB0. Try doing ls -la /dev/tty* and see what you get back.