Read Modbus values and make them visible - failed

Hello,

i am new in openhab v2.
I try to connect my house heating system via modbus tcp to openhab v2.
In the first step i create a “Thing” - “Modbus TCP Slave” with the correct local IPv4-address and the tcp port of the heating system.
In the next step i create a “Regular Poll” thing with the created modbus tcp slave bridge selected.
I try to read out register 8198 with an length of 1. The type is holding register (i try them with modbus test freeware for windows). The value is in unit °C. readed out value is ratio 10, so when 677 is readed, the real temperature is 67,7 °C.

But now i have the problem to make the readed out value visible.
I think the next step is to link an item to the regular pool thing, but how? I use the simple mode too, but the item is not created automatically.
Anyone can help me?

Welcome to the openHAB forum :wave::wave:

Since you have the Simple Mode ON, the item should have been created and linked. Look at the Ting page before the one you posted ( just hit the blue check mark to go there). It should show the Thing with its channels, expand the channel and the lines item will be shown.
Additionally the Control section of PaperUI will show all Channels of Things that are linked to an item.

All that is assuming that your Thing does have channels, I’m not fluent in Modbus!

The thing has no channel, that is my problem.

Looking into the Documentation reveals that only the data thing has channels.

Now i set the poller to start “8195”, because this is the first register from my sheet.

Length i set to 30 for testing.

But i don`t understand for example i want to read out “8198” now. I create a new modbus data thing and what i type in “read address”? 8198 or 3?
What is the read value type?

In Control there shows me everytime an result of 2, but the value is 677.