Redoing home network: how to prepare openHAB and what to update afterwards

Hey guys,

I have been using openHAB for several years now, and love it! I have also received a lot of help from you all on here over that time. I really appreciate it.

Currently, my home Wi-Fi net work is fairly simple using the cable companies router. I am getting ready to upgrade to my own router with a PF Sense firewall to take advantage of VLANs, firewall rules, etc. With that, I will be changing my 192.168.1.X addresses to something different. Probably 10.something (haven’t fully figured out what the new IP subnet will be).

Anyway, I want to get ahead of things and make sure that this goes smoothly specifically with openHAB.

I am running OH3 on a Linux virtual machine and installed it via openHABian. I do have some devices that are connected to openHAB and are on Wi-Fi like my Philips Hue lights. But the majority of my devices are connected via Z wave.

I am well aware that I will have to update any IP addresses that are related to any wifi items that are in openHAB.

I have a few questions:

1. Can y’all help me with what config files I would need to change in the virtual machine itself related to openHAB? If any of y’all have done this before and ran into some snags, please post any of your favorite tips below.
  2. As stated above, I have a fair amount of Z wave devices. If there’s anything special I need to do before or after migration, please advise.
  3. Lastly, any general tips are appreciated!

Thanks!
JM

If it’s not too late I strongly recommend OPNsense instead. I ran PFSense for a number of years and their support and the quality of the product gradually got worse and worse. What finally forced me to leave them was when they basically announced that they were doing nothing more with the community FOSS version. All new features would only be released to paying subscribers. But that was before I learned about the shenanigans they got up to when OPNsense forked.