Remote access to local w/o internet conection

Hi folks,

I am a newbie into home system, but already started experimenting with RPI a bit. I plan to install openHAB and connect a few sensors/devices.

My main concern and general question is internet connectivity and more specifically remote access when local internet is off (due to maintenance or some other reason). How do you folks handle this problem and is it solvable at all?

What are recommended design & architecture considerations for this sort of problem?

Hello,

My degraded/backup plan is to use SMS to send commands to a 3G dongle with the help of the SMS binding.

1 Like

Hey @dalgwen, thanks for your reply. I am interested in how an end to end process looks like, so please correct my assumptions below in case they are wrong:

1. There exists a 3G dongle device with SIM card inserted into one of the USB slots of your RPI (I simply assumed here that your hub is raspeberry-pi based);
    1.1 is this the SMS binding you refer to: SMSModem - Bindings | openHAB
  2. Is the PI always running on 3G connectivity or does it defaults to 3G only when the WiFi is off? If yes, how is that achieved: is it automatically thanks to the binding or is there some configuration I need to do beforehand?
  3. How secure is this way of communication in general?
  4. What are some gotchas that I need to be aware of and consider before actually implementing this? (specific dongle brands, python libraries, etc)

Thank you!

Hello again,
Good questions !

1- Yes

2- The binding uses the dongle with the AT protocol (simple command send over a serial connection) and does NOT use a 3G/4G/5G DATA connection. It’s plain SMS. The raspberry still uses wifi for all internet related operations. There is no network switching operation.