Request: ADAX thermostat/radiator binding

Hi
I have a number of Adax Wifi radiators in my house and would love to have these integrated into my OpenHAB installation. But, I’m not a developer and have gotten most of my other OpenHAB stuff working based on browsing the forum and kind of copy/paste a lot of solutions. So, my programming knowledge and tech understanding is limited. As far as I know, there’s currently no way to integrate these radiators with existing bindings in OpenHAB.

Since I purchased these radiators, Adax has publicly released an API to be able to integrate with the thermostats - Getting Started with the Adax API

So, my questions are

1. Is an integration of these radiators already possible with something existing (that I have missed)?
  2. If not, can a binding be created based on this API?
  3. Are you willing to help me do it?

I’m willing to help as much as I can, but I’m afraid I’m somewhat lost when it comes down to this tech level. I know there are guides I could read how to do this - but that’s in theory. In reality I would have a hard time understanding the process without proper (and patient) guidance.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Submit a request on bountysource to encourage a volunteer developer to develop a binding. That is the current path for non-developers who wish new addons.

Without a publicly released API though chances are slim. Web screen scraping is discouraged for official addons even if it woks short term. There are too many changes that could break things.

Thank you Bruce
I will check out bountysource.

There is a released and publicly available API (as far as I can tell) - the one I linked to in my first post.

Sorry, I somehow misread that. - Not enough :coffee: :frowning:

1. You could probably use the HTTP binding for this. If not, you can use the Exec binding or executeCommandLine Action to call the example Python scripts provided at that link.