RFXCOM and Arduino

Hi all.

I have the RFXtrx433E and the RFXCOM binding installed on my OpenHAB 2.1 system.

I recently bought the Adafruit Feather M0 RFM69 and I’m currently playing around with the radio module. I think it should be possible to get the Feather to communicate with the RFXtrx, right? Does anybody have any experience with this, any hints?

At first I thought that the RFXtrx should pick up on pretty much anything I send as long as the binding was configured to show undecoded messages, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Then I tried to create an Undecoded RF Messages Thing, but that doesn’t seem to pick up on anything either.

I’d really love to get this to work, so I appreciate any insights you might have.

Thanks,

Fredrik

I am only speaking theoretically here because I have no experience with the Feather nor RFXCOM. But in general just because something talks the same MHz is no guarantee that it speaks the same language over that frequency. There is so much more that goes into getting two devices to communicate wirelessly one could fill a book. If the Feather’s radio module is not a software defined radio with an RFXtrx driver (which I’m almost certain it isn’t) or the Feather’s radio module doesn’t explicitly state that it supports RFXtrx, it almost certainly will not be able to work with your RFXCOM transceiver/binding.

I was afraid of that. I had some hope since the rfxtrx seems to be able to talk to pretty much anything, but I guess it was a longshot. Thanks.

Does anybody use Arduinos as sensors connected to OpenHAB? How do you handle communication?