Root instance already running - OH won't start

Hi,
i just wanted to get Homekit back to work.
i stopped OH and cleaned cache (openhab-cli clean-cache) and now i cant get my OH running. PLEASE HELP

root instance already running with name openhab ? how to fix this ?
i already rebooted several times, nothing helps and i am a noob :frowning:

i tried:
Apply Improvements -> Fix Permissions
Manual/Fresh Setup -> System Tweaks
Config > openHAB Stable and Update
openhab-cli reset-ownership

thank you!

Good morning Philipp,

maybe this comment will help.

Also this comment is helpful

Kind regards,
Mark

openHABian automatically starts openHAB on boot via systemd, you mustn’t start that manually.
Manual startup will spit errors when it tries to use some of the same ressources as the running instance does (such as a portnumber).

1 Like

ok thanks, but whats the solution now, to get it back to work correctly ?
i see myself reinstalling OH already :frowning:

Use top at the command line to show everything running on system. Looks like OH pid is 756 but need to confirm that then use kill pid 756 to stop the instance. After that reboot and see what happens.

Edit: You may need to clean the cache again.

i’ve done that, now i get this status and my log does nothing

Use sudo systemctl stop openhab2

sudo openhab-cli clean cache

sudo reboot

Also open a browser with fronttail so you can watch the logs as OH starts up.

Do you have a working backup? If so then a fresh install should be no issue.

OMG its happening! cant believe, thank you so much, but i dont understand what is different to that what i have done :thinking: i did the same yesterday, but nothing happend and today i get my OH back, wohooo

Thanks H102

1 Like

Glad to see you got it back up and running!:+1:

Please mark the topic solved by clicking the square box on the post that provided the solution.

Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving

my spotify beta binding always gets uninstalled by itself