Rotel Binding Function

Continuing the discussion from Control of Rotel equipments:

@Lolodomo

Hi There,

I am very new to openhab, so it’s possible my question comes from a lack of understanding,. If so, apologies.

I have some Rotel gear, including an RC-1590. I’ve installed the binding, punched in the IP, and set it up as a “thing” using the paperUI.

I can see the device as showing on line, but beyond that, it doesn’t appear to respond to any button commands or updating status.

I know that the unit is online and talking to the network, as I’ve used a volume add in for Roon that talks over IP.

The Rotel unit is on FW v. 1.41. I mention this because it broke the Roon volume control add in, which had to be updated for the new FW – in case that has some bearing here (don’t know any particulars beyond that, sorry).

Thanks in advance for any help.

Note that I found a new version of the protocol version for the model RC-1590.

As of software V1.40, the RS232 and IP protocol was updated with changes to some commands as well as all feedback strings. This change will impactexisting control systems so any connected control systems should be updated to utilize the new protocol before updating the software in the RC-1590.

So a change is necessary in the binding to support your model with your firmware.

Of course I will propose a fix in the coming days.
The change may be even easy but I need first to analyze the new documentation. I guess this is the same change of protocol that occurred with few other models and which is already supported by the binding.

The fix is in the review process. If we have chance, it could be included in next version 2.5.6.

Fix is now merged and will be included in 2.5.6.

No feedback??

Hi Lolodomo,

Apologies for no reply – I tinkered then got distracted.