RRD4J doesn't store any data

Hi,

I’m new to openhab and have tiny issue with rrd4j.
My setup is pretty straight forward: I have a KNX system and I’m controlling everything related to my heating with openhab. I’m using mapdb to persist the item values in order to have them survive a restart. This works like a charm.
Now I wanted to start logging temperature values to have some historic data. Unfortunately rrd4j doesn’t generate any rrd files. Any idea why?

I haven’t touched services/rrd4j.cfg (= it’s empty).
And here’s my persistence/rr4dj.persist:

Strategies {
        everyMinute : "0 * * * * ?"
        everyHour   : "0 0 * * * ?"
        everyDay    : "0 0 0 * * ?"
        default = everyMinute
}

Items {
        AUSSENTEMPERATUR : strategy = everyMinute
}

And the corresponding item definition:

Number AUSSENTEMPERATUR "Außentemperatur [%.1f °C]" <temperature>  {knx="<14/2/7"}

Karaf output of feature:list:

openhab-persistence-rrd4j                   | 1.10.0           | x        | Started     | openhab-addons-2.1.0    | RRD4j Persistence

Any ideas? What’s the best approach to debug this? How do I specifically turn on logging for rrd4j?

Thanks!

Are you certain AUSSENTEMPERATUR has a value and isn’t NULL? Does it show a value in your sitemap or does it show - instead of a number?

Have you tried a restart of OH just to make sure everything is cleanly running?

See http://docs.openhab.org/administration/logging.html for how to change the logging level of rrd4j.

Thanks for the swift reply.

Yes, the item does have a value. In my sitemap it works perfectly.
And I restarted OH a dozen times :slight_smile:

Should

log:set DEBUG org.openhab.persistence.rrd4j

enable logging?

That should work as well when logged into the karaf console.

I turned on logging now.

First finding: Seems like /var/lib/openhab2/config/org/openhab/rrd4j.config contained some old archives which I defined during testing. I cleared those now.