Rule performance

I’ve been writing a bunch of new rules, and as a developer myself I’m curious if there’s certain ways to go about writing rules for performance. For example:

1. if I have a large if/else if block, is there a more performant way to do that?
  2. Number of rules files, does that make a difference?
  3. Creation of variables
  4. Anything else that may impact rule performance

And finally, I’m also curious if there’s any performance difference between the new rule engine and old one?

There’s some specific CPU hogs such as to use primitives on ARM, but that’s about it.
You are not supposed to do any scientific computing in rules and unless you do that you need not bother about performance.

I haven’t done any profiling myself. But Python rules seem quicker. OH 2.5 also seems to process the Python rules quicker than OH 2.4.

1 Like

None of the things you have listed contribute to higher/lower performance. The rules DSL is a dog, especially if you feed it primitives. The new rule engine and scripted automation does not currently have any validation going on, which is a big part of the DSL rule loading time, but it also has no slowdown when using primitives.

The new rule engine and scripted automation w/ Jython offer so much more than what is available in the old rule engine, and there is no good reason to not migrate now rather than wait for OH 3.0. And yes, it is faster!

I have 20 rules files that run without any issue. You did not mention hardware. CPU and RAM could be an issue, but your post did not detail, so…

At the risk of repeating a lot of stuff already said…

Performance almost never matters in a home automation context. So what if it takes 500 msec to process an event that happens once every minute? There are cases where this does matter of course but usually the bottleneck is the technology, not Rules.

But usually, you will see sub 100 msec processing times on all but the most complex Rules DSL Rules unless you add sleeps or the like.