Rule to link two switches

Hi Everybody,

I’m new to OpenHAB and using it with Insteon devices. I want to programmatically link a switch with a keypad button.

• When the button is turned ON I want to turn ON the switch.
  • When the button is turned OFF I want to turn OFF the switch.
  • When the switch is turned ON I want the status of the button to be ON
  • When the switch is turned OFF I want the status of the button to be OFF

So I create 4 rules. One of each of the cases.

rule rule1
when
Item KeyPadButton changed to ON
then
sendCommand(Switch, ON)
end

rule rule2
when
Item KeyPadButton changed to OFF
then
sendCommand(Switch, OFF)
end

rule rule3
when
Item Switch changed to ON
then
sendCommand(KeyPadButton, ON)
end

rule rule4
when
Item Switch changed to OFF
then
sendCommand(KeyPadButton, OFF)
end

This kind of worked. But after few tries switches got into an endless loop of getting toggled on and off.

My question is if there is a more civilized way of achieving the functionality? If no, then, how to fix those rules so that the switches don’t toggle infinitely?

Thanks,
Ruben

Hmm, if you press the button, it changes its state to ON and if you release it it changes to OFF. And how should a button turned on? Could you please describe this in more detail?

Please keep in mind that the button press send a command to the switch and this triggers the next rule and with some delays between rule 2 and 3 there might be some endless loops

Thomas

The problem is that when Rule 1 is triggered by the keypad being set to ON, then a command is send to the switch, that command will trigger rule 3 which again will trigger rule 1, which again…

I would create a switch item that is not linked to any device, but instead updated in the sendCommand in your rules.