Rule to set the power usage (watts) back to 0 after item switched off. Rule to effect group of items

Hi All,

I’m wondering if someone could assist me with creating a rule? I’m happy to learn so any advice would be appreciated, many thanks.

Problem
I have lots of zwave switches which also measure the power consumption in watts. However quite often the result is registered but not set back to zero once the device is off. As a consequence I cannot accurately measure my power consumption.

My half solution
I have created a basic rule (I’m no expert) to reset the wattage when a particular switch is off.

rule "Heater reset watts"
when
	Item Swi_PO1_Heater received command OFF
then
    Num_PO1_Heater_Watts.postUpdate(0)
end

Preferred solution
I have 30 devices so rather than copy this code 30 times I was hoping I could create a rule that effects a group of items. That way I can simply add all and any future items to a group and it resets the wattage.

Here’s a rule I use to alert me when one of my battery devices needs a new battery. I didn’t write the rule myself, but have adapted it a little for my needs. Hopefully this will give you an idea.

rule "SYSTEM: Battery Alerts"
when
    Member of gBatteryLevel changed
then
val vDevice = triggeringItemName
if(triggeringItem.state == 100) {
    logInfo(logName, "System Message: The {} has been replaced.", vDevice)
}
val Number alertBatteryThreshold = 15
val Number lowBatteryThreshold = 10
var String msg = ""
if(gBatteryLevel.state > alertBatteryThreshold) return;
val alertBatteryList = gBatteryLevel.members.filter[ b | b.state < alertBatteryThreshold && b.state > lowBatteryThreshold ]
alertBatteryList.forEach [ i |
    msg = msg + i.name + ': ' + i.state.toString + '%\n'
    logInfo(logName, "System Message: Battery alert at " + i.name + ": " + i.state.toString + "%")
    if(now.getHour > 7 && now.getHour < 22) {