Rules cycling despite reentrant.lock

I have two rules that keep cycling and I don’t understand why. I thought reentrant.lock would prevent this from happening…(warning: I am no expert, so likely I am misunderstanding quite basic)
So here my situation:
I have three Hue Lights and a few RC controlled outlets that are accessed through pilight; pilight is free, runs on low cost hardware and allows me and others to use either the RC remote or access it through OpenHAB (OH2 build #456 runs on RPI).
I use a rule to switch my Hue lights on and off in synch with the pilights. Works like a charm.
Unfortunately the communication is not always reliable and some of the outlets sometimes don’t ‘get the message’ always in the first try. So I thought it would be good to send another one or two commands to the pilights when the rule got triggered. Rules are pasted below. Needed some thread.sleep’s to make the system wait in order not to re-trigger the same rule more than once, which is already strange as the pilights have different codes for on and off, so should not be triggered twice. Still…works as long as I wait for the rules to finish.
If i don;t wait, the rules start cycling forever (meaning the lights switch on and off by themselves in a endless loop).
What am misunderstanding?

import java.util.concurrent.locks.ReentrantLock
val ReentrantLock  lock = new ReentrantLock()

rule "Synchronize Hue lights OFF"
when
	Item LivingroomLamps changed to OFF  
then {
		lock.lock
		try {
			sendCommand(Light_couch_Toggle,OFF)
			sendCommand(Light_cube_Toggle,OFF)
			sendCommand(Light_balcony_Toggle,OFF)
  			sendCommand(LivingroomLamps,OFF)
			Thread.sleep(10000)
			sendCommand(LivingroomLamps,OFF)
			Thread.sleep(10000)		
		} finally  {
			lock.unlock
		}
	} 
end	

rule "Synchronize Hue lights On"
when
	Item LivingroomLamps changed to ON 
then {  
		lock.lock
		try {
			sendCommand(Light_couch_Toggle,ON) 
			sendCommand(Light_cube_Toggle,ON)
			sendCommand(Light_balcony_Toggle,ON)