Rules Help

Hello all,
I am having issues with rules, you can call me a complete noob.
I constantly get the error “no viable alternative at input ‘Thing’” or "no viable alternative at input ‘Item’"
I am running an RPi using openhabian 2.2 also tried against 2.1

Some example rules I have tried:

rule "UFH"
when
	Thing "Heating" received update
then
  if ((Heating_HeatPower > 0)) {
    sendCommand(UnderFloorHeatingSW2, ON)
  }

if ((Heating_HeatPower == 0)) {
    sendCommand(UnderFloorHeatingSW2, OFF)
  }
end
import org.openhab.core.library.types.*
import org.openhab.core.persistence.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.*

rule "GuestRoom Light OnOff"
when
Item "GuestRoomLightScene" received command
 then
 "ZWaveNode4FGS223DoubleSwitch2_Switch".sendCommand(if("ZWaveNode4FGS223DoubleSwitch2_Switch".state == OFF) ON else OFF)
  if (("ZWaveNode4FGS223DoubleSwitch2_Switch" == OFF)) {
    "ZWaveNode4FGS223DoubleSwitch2_Switch".sendCommand(ON)
  }
  else {
    "ZWaveNode4FGS223DoubleSwitch2_Switch".sendCommand(ON)
  }

end

No Rule will load with the errors being along the lines of

2018-02-10 17:27:34.212 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Loading model 'UFH.rules'
2018-02-10 17:27:34.228 [WARN ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Configuration model 'UFH.rules' is either empty or cannot be parsed correctly!
2018-02-10 17:27:34.321 [WARN ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Configuration model 'UFH.rules' has errors, therefore ignoring it: [3,2]: no viable alternative at input '"Heating_HeatPower"'

Any pointers or help you can give will be much appreciated
Thx,
Col

What is that, a Number Item? If you are trying to see if it has a non-zero value, you need to examine its .state

if (Heating_HeatPower.state > 0) {
1 Like

Thnaks @rossko57 yes this is a number item, and adding state was already tried but…
It seems adding state works in this case

rule "UFH"
when
	Thing "Heating" received update
then
  if ((Heating_HeatPower.state > 0)) {
  }