Run under virtual linux or directly on windows?

Not an absolute beginner here, I’ve been running OH1.8 for a couple of months on a RPi, with varying success (seems to get bogged down & need reboots, maybe due to zwave retries, but also the Pi just doesn’t seem beefy enough for my setup).

Anyhow, I’m not really a windows guy, but there are a few apps I have that need windows. I used to run virtual windows on my mac when I needed to, but it’s clumsy. I ended up getting a relatively cheap Dell windows box, and decided to move openhab to it – it’s wayyy faster than a RPi (I figured I’d also migrate to 2.0 in the process). So… should I run that inside windows natively (seems like it’d work OK in my current setup), or run it inside a virtual linux container? I’m more comfortable with linux but it seems a bit hacky to rely on virtualization if I don’t have to.

My q’s are:

• is openhab stable enough / all the plugins really working on windows (i.e. I know there’s at least a few bindings for 1.8 that shell out, that probably wouldn’t work on windows, although I don’t use any of those today)
  • is it easy to set up openhab as a service, so I don’t need to manually start it at boot and worry about it dying, etc.
  • and performance issues on windows vs. linux? java seems to work well generally on win, but as I said I’m more focused on (and Oracle probably is too), linux
  • is windows 7 pro fine, or is there some reason to go to win10? or reasons NOT to go to win10 for openhab? (this is essentially a headless server so much of the win10 crud seems pointless for me)

Thanks for any insights!

Beware of connectivity issues running OpenHAB on Linux using a Hyper-V host. You can’t give access to the hosts USB ports. And if you use Z-Wave that’s quite a must.

Getting OpenHAB to run as a Windows Service is a bit overcomplicated, but you can get it to work.
Windows version doesn’t matter, as long as Oracle supports Java on it.