Samsung Smart Air Conditioner - OpenHAB 2.0

I am just starting out with OpenHAB. I have installed OH 2.0 on Ubuntu Server 16.04.1 (LTS), and I am trying to get it to work with a Samsung Smart Air Conditioner.

First of all, that binding’s documentation could really, REALLY use some updating… (the only one I could find was here: https://github.com/openhab/openhab1-addons/wiki/Samsung-AC-binding ). Because almost nothing works as documented:

1. the SSDP discovery command will not work:
    java -cp org.openhab.binding.samsungac-1.9.0.jar org.binding.openhab.samsungac.communicator.SsdpDiscovery
    Error: Could not find or load main class org.binding.openhab.samsungac.communicator.SsdpDiscovery

2. The configuration file mentioned on that page (openhab.conf) no longer exists in OH2

3. The syntax for the configuration parameters seems to have changed. The wiki page mentions “samsungac:Livingroom.host=192.168.1.2”, but my /etc/openhab2/services/samsungac.cfg has lines like “Livingroom.host=192.168.1.2”
    [Edit: I should have read the documentation more carefully - this is a known change in OH2 :slight_smile: . However, it is still confusing for new users, and should be documented with the binding as well… ]

I have followed the steps here to trust my AC’s certificate and to create an “application” certificate for communicating with it. I was able to successfully connect to the AC, get a valid token, and send commands to it from the command line (MAC and token edited for obvious reasons):

openssl s_client -connect 192.168.1.2:2878 -cert /etc/openhab2/services/mycert.pem 
CONNECTED(00000003)
---
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?><Update Type="InvalidateAccount"/>
<Request Type="AuthToken"><User Token="b6hgb657-ab78-4ae3-adc4-a3e7gh10ef5" /></Request>
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?><Response Type="AuthToken" Status="Okay" StartFrom="2017-01-30/12:17:31"/>
<Request DUID="BA8DCD8GH43E" Type="DeviceState" />