Seeking Guidance on Contributing and Creating a Binding

Hello everyone,

This is my first time contributing to an open-source project, and I’m a bit confused about how to get started. I would greatly appreciate any tips or advice from the community.

I’m not sure whether I should create a fork and work on that or if there’s another approach. I thought I could open a Pull Request (PR) and work on it, but I’m not entirely certain if that’s the correct way to go about it.

My goal is to create a new binding for OpenHAB. I’ve already done some coding, but it’s still a work in progress (WIP). I’m eager to learn the best practices and contribute effectively to the project.

Thank you in advance for any guidance you can provide. I’m looking forward to becoming an active contributor to the OpenHAB community!

Best regards, Rush Almosa

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

I guess you’ll find valuable insights here : Bindings | openHAB

Here are some references to specific technically information on how to start with creating and building a binding: Create jar for only one binding in the addons repository - #4 by hilbrand

Yes create your fork (you already did this) and start from the main branch by creating a branch for you binding (the new binding documentation I linked above to, describes this).
When you’re completed your binding then you can create a pull request and it will be reviewed for inclusion. You could also add your binding under the marketplace topic to allow others to install your binding.
Some specific comments. Currently openHAB 4.0 is in development. Because there are some breaking changes 4.0 build bindings won’t run on 3.4. But there are ways to build a 4.0 binding to be compatible with 3.4. See Migrating addons to v4.0 - list of necessary changes available? - #6 by hilbrand