Semantic Model, Equipments and Points

Hi!

I’m new to openHAB3, and I would like to use it in a KNX installation.

I read a large part of the documentation, but there are still a few things unclear about Semantic Model setup, and how to make things clean.

I successfully added a KNX gateway (I’m using a Siemens N146), and a Device (ABB SA/S 12.10.1 relays). In the SA/S Device, I added channels matching all GA used in my ETS config (more questions about this later).

I created some nested Locations, and in the final one, I would like to create the light.

Do you confirm that the correct way is, from that location, to add a Point from a Thing (the SA/S KNX Device), and choose one of the channels? Then, change the Semantic Property to Light?

Thanks,

Fred

Hi Fred and welcome,

Sorry i might not get what it is exactly that you want to do…

To Create your light you create the Item (dimmer or switch) and connect it to the channel. The location is the group of your light item. Semantic property is the light.

you can add groups/tags/Properties,… later and also change them.

As i said i dont know what it exactly is you need. maybee you can elaborate a bit more.
I also use Openhab3 with my KNX installation.

Greetings
Manuel

Generally it goes like this:
Location → Equipment → Point.

An example, this is how I set up mine in textual config. The parentheses indicate the group(s) that the group/item belongs to, and the [] are for the semantic tags.

I refer to openhab-core/SemanticTags.csv at main · openhab/openhab-core · GitHub for the list of valid tags. If you’re working on the UI, I think it’s all laid out for you nicely.

// Locations
Group   gIndoor                                           ["Indoor"]
Group   gLivingRoom              (gIndoor)                ["LivingRoom"]

// Equipment
Group   LivingRoom_Light_Bulb    (gLivingRoom)            ["Lightbulb"]

// Points
Switch  LivingRoom_Light         (LivingRoom_Light_Bulb)  ["Control", "Light"]