Sensibo API Integration - Based on Rules

For those with a Sensibo system, I’ve posted the files that I’m using successfully to control my system on Github. If you have any questions, corrections, or suggestions, please let me know.

2 Likes

Hi Michael,

I come across your code for OH2 and Sensibo. Does this work with Sensibo Sky or is it meant for the Sensibo Bridge and Pods version?

I’ve tried the URLs from the sensibo-interface.rules file manually with the PODID and APIKEY. They give me the values as expected. Based on that Sensibo Sky looks like supported, but how to integrate in OH2…

I’m new to OpenHAB, installed it yesterday and tried to add your item, sitemap and rule. I see the sitemap in Basic UI, but have no idea how to add Sensibo as a Thing. Can you briefly describe? (couldn’t find that on your GitHub)

Thanks!

I use it with the bridge and pod version, but it’s good to hear that it works with the new version as well. I looked at the Sensibo API and it doesn’t look like they’ve changed it as a result of the new hardware.

You don’t need to create a thing in OH2, just the items and rules. When the items are changed (via the UI or otherwise, such as with the REST API), the rules will be triggered and reach out to the Sensibo API. I realize that this is not how OH2 is supposed to work, but unfortunately I don’t know nearly enough about Java to create a proper Sensibo binding.

I would recommend testing your setup with the REST API, since it lets you interact with the items directly.

I should also note that the SensiboState switch item can be used with Homekit/Siri and Alexa very easily by adding a [“Switchable”] tag, which allows you to control your Sensibo with voice commands. Personally, I’ve found this very useful. [Edit: I’ve added this tag to the .items file and made a note of this feature on Github.]

I hope that helps, but let me know if you have any trouble.

Hi Michael,