Serial Binding for periodic requests

Hi,

I have a meter reader which is sending data via serial port device. So I guess the serial binding would be great.

But, there are different wanted strings in the stream (something like “xxxSOMEDATA_HERExxxayyyyuuOTHER_DATA_HEREoooxxx” and so on), so that I think I can’t use the regex. If I understand correctly, I could use several String items with serial binding and the different regexes, but I guess this would cause several serial connections?

Also as far as I remember (currently I have a perl script from FHEM reading these values), the meter is sending data to serial constantly. But I would like to only read and log these data every 5 minutes. So I guess I could save some cpu power if I only connect every 5 mins to the serial port, read the data and disconnect again.

Is there already a suitable binding for that usecase? Should I write my own binding (I’m a java developer, although not familiar with openHAB dev) or use a shell script to read the data and report back to openHAB (but I would like to have as much as possible integrated in openHAB to keep the system small and maintainable).

According to the wiki page you can populate multiple Items from one serial binding with the 1.8 version of the serial binding. That will let you pull SOMEDATA_HERE into one Item and OTHER_DATA_HEAR into another Item without needing multiple connections, if I read it correctly. So as long as you upgrade to the 1.8 binding (downloaded from the nightly builds) that won’t be a problem.

The current serial binding does not support this but you could handle the logging of the data every five minutes with a cron triggered rule and call to the Item’s persist method (assumes persistence is set up and the Items in question are not configured to save every change). The binding does not support connecting to the serial port periodically. That is really an aberrant use case for serial connections so I’m not surprised it isn’t supports.