Serial connection w/ RFDuino - OH2 doesn't recieve data

Hi,

I am new to openHAB and home automation in general, I am looking to implement a small system that works with a RFDuino that sends data through the serial connection.

I have downloaded the serial binding addon and put it into the addons folder. I also have created an item to bind the data on: String Arduino “Arduino [%s]” (arduino) {serial="/dev/ttyUSB0"} and have put it into the sitemap as well: Text item = Arduino.

For not, I only want to work with static virtual data, after that I will be connecting sensors and other but I am having troubles going forward due to this small road block.

*minicom does read the data sent from the RFDuino to my linux machine

Thank you

I’m not sure if ttyUSB0 is a “standard” Serial Port within the meaning of openHAB, so please take advise from Note 2 @ bottom of https://github.com/openhab/openhab/wiki/Serial-Binding.

the port that the RFDuino ide says that the device is connected to is on ttyUSB0, ill try to change it and see how it goes.

I understand that I have to adapt the start.sh with the code given below the note, but how do I go about doing that?

Sorry, I’m new to the system and home automation in general but trying to learn as I go.

1st Question is, how do you start openHAB?

If you are using an autostart script which refers to start.sh, you have to add -Dgnu.io.rxtx.SerialPorts=/dev/ttyUSB0 to the java command in start.sh:

[...]
echo Launching the openHAB runtime...
java \
    -Dgnu.io.rxtx.SerialPorts=/dev/ttyUSB0 \
    -Dosgi.clean=true \
    -Declipse.ignoreApp=true \
[...]

If you are using an autostart script which calls java itself, you have to add the parameter accordingly to the autostart script.

In a script \ means, the next line belongs to the former line, so in the script the java call could also be like

java -Dgnu.io.rxtx.SerialPorts=/dev/ttyUSB0 -Dosgi.clean=true -Declipse.ignoreApp=true [...]