Serial input string rule errors

Hi,
This is my first post so hopefully I am posting to the forum correctly. I am having issues trying to implement what I thought was a fairly simple concept, receiving a serial string to update the state of OH items using the serial binding and rules. I am currently using OH v1.8. My setup consists of Arduino Nodes using GPIO to monitor contact closures. I am using RF links to another Arduino acting as a gateway that outputs a string on the UART to OH running on an RPI. I have the Arduino’s and links working well and the protocol I implemented works well. It is basically a CSV string of device type, node id, payload. I have the UART connection working as I can see the received string in the log file. I have detailed the error below and would appreciate some advice on how to resolve the errors and get this working. I should point out that this is my first time at working with java and my coding experience is limited to that I have gained working with Arduinos, so I could be way out of my depth here.

Here is the relevant item config:

String Arduino          "Arduino [%s]"  (Arduino_Grp)    { serial="/dev/ttyAMA0", autoupdate="false" }
Contact Window_PU_ArduinoTEST   "Arduino Test Input" <pump> (gPU, Windows)

I can update the test contact from the console with the expected result in the gui:
osgi> openhab update Window_PU_ArduinoTEST OPEN
Update has been sent successfully.

Here is the openhab.log inclusive of the error:
[DEBUG] [b.serial.internal.SerialDevice:225 ] - Received message ‘1,2,0’ on serial port /dev/ttyAMA0
[DEBUG] [o.o.i.m.i.MyOpenHABServiceImpl:282 ] - store(Arduino_Grp), state = 1,2,0
[DEBUG] [o.o.i.m.i.MyOpenHABServiceImpl:282 ] - store(Arduino), state = 1,2,0
[DEBUG] [m.r.internal.engine.RuleEngine:305 ] - Executing rule ‘Arduino UART RX Received’
[DEBUG] [o.m.s.Arduino UART RX Packet =:38 ] - 1,2,0