Setting item to a previous state based on different item

I’ve been chugging along with OH2 for several months now and have had a lot of fun doing it but I’m stumped trying to figure out something.

I’m controlling my HVAC (heat/cool modes) via an arduino with relays on the thermostat lines. I also have a bunch of motorized vents or dampers to most of my rooms. I like to use the HVAC system to maintain nursery and master bedrooms temperatures at night by running the lower stage heat and fan and closing off a lot of the other rooms (in order to get temps in line quickly and efficiently).

When the furnace turns on I close vents in other rooms and afterwards I need to re-open them. That part is easy enough but I’d like to return them to their previous state. If they were previously closed I want them to remain closed. If they were previously open I’d like them to return to being open.

Each room has its own rule file. When the heat/cool trigger changes I want a rule to fire off to close the vent or reset it but I don’t know how to do this part.

Heating/Cooling Items:
AuxHeatUpper (on off)
AuxHeatLower (on off)

example room:

rule "LivingRoom Reset Vent"
when
        Item AuxCoolUpper changed or
        Item AuxHeatUpper changed
then
       if ( AuxCoolUpper.state == ON || AuxHeatUpper.state == OFF )
             VT_Vent_Mode_LR.postUpdate(0) <---- 0 = off 1 = on 2=heat 3=cool
       if (AuxCoolUpper.state ==OFF || AuxHeatUpper.state == OFF)
             VT_Vent_Mode_LR.postUpdate( previous state ????)
end

i 've played with previousState a little but it seems to only work when whatever item is the trigger. I don’t know how to use previous states of items not triggered off of

thanks

Is VT_Vent_Mode_LR a number-item and how did you configure the persictance?

Yes, number item. Rr4jd every change every minute