Setting up items/rules with arduino serial gateway

Hallo all,

I am new to openhab and I am having some issues with setting up the rules and items. I do have my arduino’s installed with the right sketches. The serial gateway is working but I am having trouble with adding them to my openhab rules. It would be amazing if someone could explain it to me!

Thanks in advance!

Tino

We are going to need a ton more information to even begin to help.

What technology/protocol does the gateway use? For example, does it talk HTTP with a REST API, does it pub/sub MQTT messages, do you talk to it directly via a socket, does it use Souliss, etc?

That will help figure out how to set up your Items.

What information do these arduinos produce or expect? What do you want to do with this information? What additional information do you need to achieve what you want (e.g. do you need to know about time, sunset , sunrise, weather conditions, temperature, etc.)?

At this point I have a DHT22 sensor sending temperature and humidity over the serial gateway and I have connected a 4relay board which sends its state and listens to new commands.

My setup is simple for now:
A Raspberry pi 2B running openhab, an Arduino Nano connected to the raspberry by usb with the mysensors serialgateway sketch on it and an Arduino Nano with a DHT22 sensor and a 4relay board.
I use the NRF24L01+ radios to link the Arduino’s.

Ah, another mysensors migrant. You probably want to look at the Serial binding then.

Spend some time on the wiki. It tells you how openHAB works and how everything links together (i.e. how Items interact with Rules interact with Persistence, etc.). It also has tons of examples and documentation for all of the bindings.