Simple Exec Binding Curl Command

Greetings, openHAB noob here. I’m trying to just have openHAB execute a simple http request. If first tried the http module, but it was just more complicated than what I needed, and it refused to quit re-executing the http command (I guess it thinks it must poll the url for status, and that’s not at all what I need. I then saw the exec binding option thinking I could just execute a simple “curl ABC.NET” (dummy example, there are 4 possible commands and I was going to build a thing for each). All I’m expecting back is a 200 status code, nothing else. I added “curl” to the whitelist file and rebooted, but I can’t seem to get the thing to execute. I can’t imagine this is that complicated. I can ssh in to by Pi running the latest openhabian, execute the curl, and it works fine. I’ve created the thing, and added it to a model with my “family room”, and tried to execute it via the big giant “null” button, but no joy. I know I’m missing something, after hours or reading docs and trying a myriad of options, I give, I need to phone a friend.

In linux, such as on the PI, everything runs in a “environment”. One of the things about an environment is aliases or the default shortcuts for commonly used commands. When you type curl at the command line the user environment knows that is supposed to mean the binary file at /usr/bin/curl. Commands run by the exec binding run in a different environment than the standard user and don’t typically have access to all those shortcuts, so you probably can’t use jusdt curl and have to use the complete path to the command /usr/bin/curl.

Seems logical, but adding the full path to curl as suggested, didn’t change the result. I also tried adding it to the whitelist as “/usr/bin/curl” which also didn’t help.