Smarthome Security

Hi everyone,

I am reading about home automation for quite some time and i am really fiddling with the idea of starting my own project, preferably utilizing the OpenHAB environment. First of all, i would like to explain my current position in ‘coding’ and ‘home automatization’. TL/DR: I’m green.

My non existent/experience

I am not completely new to writing code, as i do regularly need to perform some more or less complicated computations, thus i’m familiar with the very general idea of coding in several (mostly statistical, or at least thats what I use them for) languages, like R or python. I also know, that I am capable of “googling” how to get stuff done, as i’ve already setup my raspberry pi and fiddled around with it in terms of jumping around with happiness when i got it to display some number on a 7 segment display without a specific guide which would teach exactly how to do this one thing. On the other hand, i am really new to the linux environment and to coding beyond statistics in general, thus I’m completely bypassed by the general knowledge of ‘what is ok’ and ‘what is risky’.

My plan is to step-by-step create a complete smarthome as a hobby, which I’ve already started doing by managing the simple things (very basic door-sensor connected to RBP which currently can’t do more than tell RBP that the door is open and then nothing happens).

However before i start implementing all of the cool features and playing around with it, i would like to know if there is (and if yes, how?) an option to secure the server from the outer internet and keep it restricted, while also allowing it “reading” access to it. I would love to be able to setup a display in the hall, that would just show the upcomming trams to my station, which would obviously require it to be connected to the internet, however i don’t want anyone (yes, i’m paranoid) to be able to switch the colour of my kitchen light to green.