Smartmeter

Hi, I’m a very beginner at OH3.
My first attempt is to get the data of my electronic power consumption in OH3
I’m using the binding “smartmeter”. After some testing it seems to work. The state I’d online, on the debug page are data.
Now I have to create items and link them to the channels. At this point I’m lost. All the examples I found are for OH2. I want to log Power usage (kW) (1.7.0) and the kWh (1.8.1 and 1.8.2) I want to put them in a chart.
Where do I find some help?

I’m still reading the documents. At the beginning it is suggested to use the UI Tutorial
Later on the the files are edited Items and I don’t find any documents based on the UI. Now I am a bit confused :thinking:

Hi, I’m a bit struggling as I don’t know you exact issue. But let’s try to shed in some light.

As you described yourself as a beginner, I suggest you start with the UI and not with item files.

Just follow the UI guides mentioned here in the table of content. I would suggest the links to Adding Things: Simple and Items and the Semantic Model.

Maybe you can also describe what you have done so far and what your issue is?

Cheers
thefechner

I got openHAB running yesterday. I’m using openhabian on a raspberry 3b. So I’m a beginner at openHAB.
I created a thing smartmeter and got it running. Then I tried to create an item in order to link it with channel of the smartmeter.

But it slows no data, only NULL :sob:
Type is Number:Energy. Where do I put the unit? And why is no data shown? The thing smartmeter seems to work. At http://openhabiandevice:9001/?filter=1-0%3A1.8.2 are data’s. If I have to do the rest of the config of the item in a file, I’ll do that. I’m able to use nano :wink:

Hi again, I guess item-files won’t help us here. I assume the issue is somewhere in the item types.

As you have already the THING running, you can use the built-in item creation function. That will make sure, all item/point types are correct and derived from the THING channel.