Smartthings Addon configuration

Hi all;

First of all… I am a newbie here at OH but a old player on Smartthings Hub.

I want to get rid of the hub and start to change the base of my home automation with the OH and use the ST hub as a “zwave” hub alone.

Even though the wiki documentation is very rich on the Addon, I am confused regarding the part with the .things file.

I have done all configuration on the smartthings ide side (smartapp and device handler) and installed the Addon on OH. So I added a thing, manually, from the UI, using the Smartthings Addon and manually selecting on the device the “Smartthings Hub”. I configured that Thing via Paper UI and shows for me as Online at the things tab.

However if I look for more things using the Addon it doesn’t find anything more. Another thing is that I didn’t find the .thing file to insert the “Bridge” config as the how-to says.

Can anyone help me on that?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Welcome! I came over from SmartThings several years ago and haven’t looked back.

If I were you, I’d rethink this approach. Doing it this way means you’ll lose a lot of local control of your stuff, which increases point of failure and latency. I remember the first time I flipped z-wave switch in software after coming over to openHAB - I couldn’t believe how fast it was after the delay I got used to in SmartThings.

I know SmartThings has implemented some local control but I don’t think that works with the openHAB binding- I think the cloud is required.

It’s also going to be a lot more work to set up all your z-wave devices in SmartThings and then set them up again in openHAB via the SmartThings binding.

I use the aeotec z-wave controller. It’s usb and works great with a Pi (my former openHAB server) or with a desktop/server (where it lives now).

[Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5 Z-Wave Hub Z-Wave Plus USB to Create Gateway (Ordinary White) Amazon.com]

Hope this is helpful!

1 Like