Sofa engine control 24V DC

“Alexa/Hey Google/Siri, … please set the left sofa to 60%.”

I would love to control my sofa from openhab, because its wireless remote is broken.
The remote would talk to a controller box, which I opened, and found 4 relays (I guess).

From that box 2 cables go to the 2 sofa sections that have an engine to extend and retract.
The bottom/right socket isn’t used by my sofa.

Ideally I would love to hook up a raspberry pi to this box somehow, and then have the 2 sofa sections controlled with either on off or with a % of extension.

Before getting to the software side of things (which I’m comfortable with), I need help with the HW (where I’m a newbie) … where should I start reading?

Thanks, Kai

Hi,

The simplest means of control is to use something like a Sonoff running a replacement FOSS firmware like Tasmota. There’s many hardware options, but to start out, a Sonoff 4CH R2 Pro offers 4x relay outputs with different models designed to power mains or low-voltage devices.

The simplest would be to use the Pro with volt-free relay switches to simulate pressing buttons on the remote - but you mention the remote is broken. If the remote were IR rather than RF, Tasmota supports sending IR remote control codes directly, but that’s not a good option.

Most consumer devices are built these days from Lego-like modules, and the photo shows a vertical daughter board with RF components and the aerial. With the remote, this will be a standard part with several low voltage outputs. You could even try buying random RF remotes from eBay and see of they might work with the receiver module.

The first thing to say is BE SAFE - this looks to be a high current mains device with a large 24V transformer. If you are new to electronics, reverse engineering a mains device may be hazardous - turn it off, wait for capacitors to discharge, and also be careful of moving motors removing appendages!