Solution for thermostat overshooting (modulation)

Atm installing underfloor heating in my home. Planing to use separated wireless temp sensors for rooms and then openhab (preferably, or some other system) to make decisions on valve control and need a mechanism to do modulated temperature control based on time taking for each room to reach temp and drop it. I have no knowledge on heating algorithms, curves etc. So far I found Smart Virtual Thermostat (beta version) but it seems abandoned. Has anyone solved it using OpenHab rules? Maybe there is some online/cloud virtual thermostat openhab could feed temp measurement info and get back instructions on when to turn off heating for a zone (did googling but came up with nothing :confused: )?
Thank you in advance!

I did a quick scan of the rules and I see no red flags that would necessarily make them not work in OH 4. They might need some minor edits but we can help with that.

However, there is an automation addon which implements PID which is probably a better fit. That definitely is maintained.

There is a PWM add-on also which might be suitable.

Both of these are the standard approaches used in commercial thermostats and in industrial applications to solve the overshoot problem.

any idea if NSPanel is using pwm/pid?

I’ve no idea. I know nothing about this device. Given that it doesn’t say though I’d guess it probably just uses simple hysteresis. They try to do so much with one device so I doubt they spend all that much time an effort to implement PID or PWM for the thermostat at all.

Imo, this type of control is a low level function that should be handled by a dedicated hardware, not by a home automation system.

The home automation system should only deal with adjusting the set temp or perhaps control it’s on/off power state. Not involved in the actual PID process.

1 Like

I could go and buy stock hardware (e.g. uponor or similar solution) but It’d way more expensive.