(SOLVED) Can't Link openHAB account in Google Home (Pixel 3a)

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: DiskStation 1511+
    • Java Runtime Environment: Java SE Development Kit 8u212
    • openHAB version: 2.4.0

Hi,

I’ve been trying to link my Smart Home Wi-Fi LED Controller to my Google Home, this controller is actually the only smart device I’m trying to set up, I’m just getting started with home automation. I can actually control it through Paper UI so I know it’s working. I’ve read the many posts about Google Home supporting only Switchable and Lighting tags so I made sure to only add the one channel: Power (Switch). On my phone in Google Home when I try to add a device (choose the openHAB account, enter my credentials and allow oAuth2), I get “Signing In”, “Linking openHAB Account” and then it simply goes back to the “Set Up” screen, no errors. myopenhab.org sees my server instance so it should be configured correctly. I have no log to look at so I’m kind of lost. Any help or ideas/pointers would be greatly appreciated.

I should also mention sometimes I get “Couldn’t update the settings. Check your connection.” I can’t figure out the logic of why that sometimes shows up. I’ve also cleared the authorizations in myopenhab, no luck… The credentials screen is strange I have to say, there’s a navigation bar at the top and I can navigate away from the logon or oAuth2 screens… I wonder if that’s causing some issues.

Thank you!
Nic

Step back.

You have a Thing created.

You have an Item? That Item is linked to the Thing? That Item has a “lighting” tag? How did you add the tag to the Item?

Thanks for the reply Rich, much appreciated!