[SOLVED] Duplicate controls in paperui

I am running openhab openhab2-2.2.0-1 (centos rpm)
I have simple item linking simple mode turned on.

I add a zwave dimmer

so it creates

then I created a item

Dimmer light_tv_dimmer "TV light X " (GF) [ “Lighting” ] {channel=“zwave:device:9d6ae427:node17:switch_dimmer”}

Now paperui has an extra slider control, and the sliders don’t stay in sync

In older versions (i was running snapshot-2.1) it wouldn’t duplicate the controls, looks like it would just display the control defined in the item file.

Is there a way in paperui so i don’t get duplicate controls?

you properbly have sinple mode turn on in configuration-> system:

You can delete the extra items under the “thing” by clikking the box with arrow in the upper right coner:

and delete (to acces this mode I think you need to turn the simple mode off, but I’m not sure)

1 Like

I’m a newbie, so I was wondering about best practice here?
I like the “SImple mode” for when I add items, however when I create and item file to put items in a group, I get the duplications.
I don’t believe it is possible to put items in a group from the paperUI.
Is it possible to add items in to an item file and not get duplicates?

See the comment above. For me I add the ‘thing’ in paperui, then create the ‘item’ in a file. You have to have simple mode turned off so it doesn’t create duplicates.

I was just contemplating creating the ‘things’ in a text file as well, but that would take some extra work at this point to recreate things, the benefit would be that I wouldn’t have to be manually re add things, set there location using the gui, instead they would exist in a text file that is easy to backup. I have had to rebuild my whole open hab set up multiple times over the years, due to bugs or testing beta releases. I decided not to do that at this point because the other ‘thing’ syntax is resonably complicated to duplicate exactly what paperui did, not impossible just some work to do