[SOLVED] MQTT 2.4 Channel Switch does not work

Hi! I am new to MQTT and I setup my stuff in Openhab 2.4 all by files, without PaperUI.
What I have done is:

myMQTT.things:

Bridge mqtt:broker:myLocalBroker "MQTT Openhabbridge"
[
    host="localhost",
    secure=false
]

{
    Thing topic GenericMQTTtopic{
        Channels:
            Type switch : Test_Switch_MQTT  "Test Switch MQTT Channel" [ stateTopic="testswitch/state", commandTopic="testswitch/command", on="ON", off="OFF" ]
    }
}

mySwitch.items:

Switch TestSwitchMQTT "Test switch mqtt switch" {channel="mqtt:topic:myLocalBroker:GenericMQTTtopic:Test_Switch_MQTT"}

My understanding was hat I can publish a message for example from my Ubuntu now like:

mosquitto_pub -h 192.168.1.2 -t testswitch/command -m “ON”

But the switch doesnt change the status. I am sure my Broker is running correctly, because I am publishing my temperatures in a rule wich works fine. Also my PaperUI shows that the Broker is online an the channel is linked.

I am running a Ubuntu 18 with Mosquitto, on this machine is also running my openHAB.

bridge

I am sure its a newbi failure, but I would apreciate if someone can help me :slight_smile:

When you action the switch, in an UI for example, the command topic will be used to send the payload.
To change the state of the swith with an mqtt message from outside openHAB, use the state topic

Thank you very much for your answer.

mosquitto_pub -h 192.168.1.2 -t testswitch/state -m "ON"

doesnt work :frowning:

Set up a subscriber to check that the message is sent

I get a response:
response

The subscriber is my local running mosquitto

*the temp was published by a rule from openHAB

Can you post the item publishing the temperature, please

thermo.items

Number:Temperature WandthermostatWohnzimmer2ACTUALTEMPERATURE "Actual temperature" {channel="homematic:HM-TC-IT-WM-W-EU:OEQ1009821:OEQ1569091:2#ACTUAL_TEMPERATURE"}

sendMQTT.rules

rule "sendthermo"