[Solved] Setup fails with "Failed to start /etc/rc.local Compatibility."

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B V1.2
    • Java Runtime Environment: also don’t know
    • openHAB version: 2.5.5
  • Issue of the topic: Hey everyone, just a quick heads up, this is my first time using a Raspberry Pi and I don’t know anything, so please explain anything like I’m a dumb person, thanks!

Alright so I tired to install openhabian on my Raspberry Pi but the setup said something like [FAILED] Failed to Start /etc /rc.local Compatability. And now I’m stuck, I can’t connect to openhabianpi:8080 to continue the installation.
I tried to do: sudo /boot/first-boot.sh but it said that the command was not found.
Any help is greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Make sure you follow the install docs and read the debug guide.

1 Like

I did do it like in the install docs, however I cant execute any command that is mentioned in the debug guide. For example if I type “openhabian-config” it says “bash: openhabian-config: command not found”

This is what I’m seeing after installation

Setup did not finish. I would reimage the card and try again.

Most likely cause internet connection problem. Are you on wired internet?

1 Like

I tried that probably like three times now, still getting the same error. And yes I’m connected via cable.

sudo openhabian-config

it’s in the docs :roll_eyes:

After trying sudo openhabian-config as @mstormi mentioned and it still does not work try changing your DNS to use something like google e.g. 8.8.8.8 then flash a new image.

1 Like

You can try manually logging in after failure and issue these commands.

Sudo apt update

Then sudo apt upgrade

Let them run then try reboot and see if setup completes. I had a failure like this in the past and manually doing the updates fixed it. If this does not work follow the trouble shooting guide in the openhabian docs. Also sometimes the dns can be a problem.