[SOLVED] Systeminfo binding: Incredible CPU load results

Hi all, I’m quite new to the world of raspberry pi and home automation. On my openHABpi (raspi 4B, 4 GB SDRAM, 4 logical cores), I installed the Systeminfo binding and set up the cp#load1 item:

Number Sensor_OpenHabPi_Temperature "openHABpi CPU temperature" <temperature> { channel="systeminfo:computer:openhab:sensors#cpuTemp" }
Number Sensor_OpenHabPi_CpuLoad "openHABpi CPU load" <heating> { channel="systeminfo:computer:openhab:cpu#load1" }

However, “unfortunately”, the Paper UI always shows incredible low loads to me, which are around 0 % – 0.3 %. Is it really possible that my raspi has so little work? To be sure, I said stress -c 4 -t 120s in an SSH console, trying to raise the CPU load up to 100 %. And I could watch the CPU temperature increasing by ~10 Kelvin, but still, the CPU load did not exceed 3 %.

So what is the problem? Do I understand the meaning of cpu#load1 wrong? Are there any errors in the binding? Or is my pi just such a cool guy that it does not even get stressed when running a stress test? Looking forward to enlightenment! :smiley:

The load1, load5, and load15 channels are the load averages (not CPU utilization). There are plenty of posts on the Internet describing the load average, so I won’t try to replicate those descriptions here.

1 Like

Thanks for the clarification, I confused the names. So does the systeminfo binding provide any option to get the CPU utilization or do I have to use the exec binding for this?

It did at one point, but was removed last year (I think due to lack of support in the underlying library).

Oh, that’s a pity. It would be nice to gain this functionality back.

However, so long, I implemented it via Exec binding:

$OPENHAB_CONF/custom_scripts/mpstat_cpu_utilization.sh

mpstat 2 1 | grep Average | awk '$12 ~ /[0-9.]+/ { printf("%s", (100 - $12) / 100) }'

default.items