[solved]Trouble with Persistence and stopping cron jobs

Hi,

I am fairly new to OpenHAB coming from FHEM. I started with OpenHAB2 so I have no OpenHAB1 experience. When I start OpenHAB in my configuration most things work as expected and the rest might be explained with some wrong assumptions on my end. However three errors are then happening over time:

1. RRD4 persistence “seems” to simply stop working. E.g. I am persisting the power consumption on my homemetic plug and have it drawn on the dashboard. Works like a charm and all of the sudden stops working. The corresponding homematic events still popup in the logs. After a restart things are back to normal.

2. mysql persistence is constantly loosing the connection after some time:

[sql.internal.MysqlPersistenceService] - mySQL: Connection is not valid!

It is not regaining the connection despite

the reconnection counter

reconnectCnt=300

the connection timeout (in seconds)

waitTimeout=28800

Again. Restart of OpenHab and things start working again.

1. cron-jobs (in rules) stop working. I have several rules with cron triggers like

Time cron “15,45 * * * * ? *”

First line in the rule is a log output. Works a few hours then all of the sudden this stops and again I need to restart. At least in one occasion I am able to break this down to a day change. Last execution is on 23:59:45 and then it simply stops and the next one at 00:00:15 does not happen.

Any idea on how I could start debugging this? I tried many things and I believe I will need your assistance.

Regards,
JP

How do you determine that RRD4J stopped working?

The events still show however the graph simply does not plot any data… If you point me to how I could be dumping the RRD database or something like that I might be able to see if it is the “writing to it” part or the “plotting” part that stops working.