Some Beginner questions

Hello community,

my name is Stefan and I’m from Germany.
I’m totally new to OpenHAB and to smart home / home automation but willing to try some new ideas, hardware, software and pieces of coding.

I’ve already read lots of articles at newspaper, tests at internet magazines, descriptions from different vendors, manufacturers and so on,
and what I actually know:
There isn’t a commercial solution for all my needs (and I think I don’t have so very special ones…).

So my goal is:
1 master-software to control lot’s of different pieces of home automation from different manufacturers.

And I think that’s what OpenHAB stands for - and that’s why I’m here.

First I have for question:

• OpenHAB v1 or v2? v2 is in beta mode, but I am too :wink: I think till my plans are done OH2 will be stable, or should I start with OH1?
  • every manufactor of wifi and 433mhz modules uses his own bridge/hub/whatever they call. Do I have to buy every hub so I can use their modules with OpenHAB?
  • hardware: I’m not familiar with Linux, but I’ve read several times that the Raspi is a very fitting hardware basis for OH, mostly because of it’s GPIO. But: there is a Windows 7 machine running 24/7 at the living room (HTPC with Kodi + downloader). My goals for hardware: power-saving, easy to use (no Linux skills), flexibel / customisable and powerfull enough for different automation parts. So what do you recommend? My feeling: separate machine for the home automation part because of stability and because a few years I want to build an own house and then the control has to move to the basement