Steinel L 810 LED strangeness

Hi, I’ve been using OH for a few years but only with a small number of fairly simple zwave devices and not much automation. The recent release of OH3 has inspired me to take it a bit further.

I’ve had a Steinel L810 lamp above my front door for a while but it was just in dumb mode since it was too flaky when I included it onto my zwave controller and I had no time to work out why. I’ve now loaded the current Openhabian with OH3 on an old rpi to try and figure out if I can control it reliably or if its firmware is just too rubbish to bother with. It’s also a good way to dig a bit more deeply into OH and find out what else I can do with it!

So far, I can only confirm that it is definitely flaky :

• The debug log is showing state updates to channels which are not reflected in the UI or the persistence charts.
  • The device has a config param to set the light level above which the motion sensor is ignored. If I set this to anything less than 2000 (the level that permanently ignores the motion sensor) the zwave network is flooded with state updates from endpoint 2 (the motion sensor EP) at a rate of about 10 per second.
  • Neither of the dimmer channels update properly with the current lamp level.
  • There is only 1 light sensor channel on the root endpoint and it never updates.
  • All the Association groups are automatically linked to the controller and it’s not possible to unlink them in the UI

A search in the OH forum comes back with a fair number of people having issues with Steinel devices so I am not sure how much time it’s worth spending on this thing but before I jumped into the logs too deeply I did a quick comparison of the database definitions for Steinel devices and my device xml file.

I found some strangeness but I’m not sure how relevant it is :