Struggling With MQTT

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4/8GB
    • Java Runtime Environment: openjdk version “11.0.9.1” 2020-11-04
    • openHAB version: openHAB 3.0.1
  • Issue of the topic:

I am new to OpenHAB3. I’m coming from several years on HomeSeer and so far while I overall have liked what I’ve seen, the one challenge I’m running into is integrating MQTT with Points or Items. I have created an MQTT broker and Generic MQTT Things. On my Generic MQTT Thing, I created a channel with an event and command topic on it. My intention is to have various points or items update the topic with their status any time they change. For testing purposes I created a dummy switch and included a ZWave motion sensor. On the point for the motion sensor, I linked the MQTT Channel for motion that I created:

I would expect that whenever the sensor changed status between ALARM and OK, there would be something sent to the topic I created. Nothing happens and there isn’t anything I can see in the logs to indicate anything is happening.

I know that my MQTT broker is set up correctly because I tried going a different route and created a rule that looks for changes of Items that are part of a Group and then runs a script to send the Item status to the MQTT topic. And that works great! I don’t hate that solution but I would like to know if I am doing something wrong with linking my generic MQTT thing to my items. The output I get from my rule looks like this:

/openhab/motion/command ZoozSensor_Alarmmotion (Type=SwitchItem, State=ON, Label=Alarm (motion), Category=Motion, Tags=[Point], Groups=[Motion_Sensor_Group, ZoozSensor])

We need to see this. What “event”?

Sorry, I should have said State & Command topics:

Okay, that’s not the channel you linked to your motion sensor Item with a follow profile.

You are correct, however they are identical: