Suggested network topology for OpenHAB in a home network?

Hi everyone,

With my first home automation gear last week (yes, total home automation newbie), I naturally put my Google Home and Tradfri GW on the same WiFi network as our personal devices (phones, tablets, Kodi, etc). But looking at WiFi enabled Sonoff devices is making me thinking about the network topology, separating out all home automation onto a dedicated WiFI and wired physical network (VLAN or LAN). What kind of network topology have you implemented? Everything fine on one WiFi network or not? How about with OpenHAB in a DMZ?

Skills wise, I used to be an experienced Linux sysadmin and some network admin. Time to brush up on those skills! Also we’ve an experienced electrician onsite doing a complete rewire of our home (as part of full renovation works) including Cat6A cabling and need to make some decisions about the physical network topology: wiring, patch panels, where network switches, comms cabinet will go etc.

Although I’ve advocated the use of a separate vlan for the home automation network (I know that kai does this as he has mentioned it a few times) and I have every intention of doing this at some point, I run everything on the same LAN (well two if you count OpenVPN).

Instead I’ve focused on securing my network over all (I’m using pfSense right now) and certain completely untrustworthy devices, like Vizio TVs, simply do not have any access to the network at all.

I don’t think there is any reason to put OH in a DMZ. If you set up a reverse proxy to expose your OH to the Internet then the reverse proxy should go in the DMZ. Similarly, if you set up your own instance of openHAB Cloud Server on your local network, that should go in the DMZ. But if you are using myopenhab.org, OpenVPN, or SSH tunnels to access your OH when away from home, I don’t see any benefit to running OH in the DMZ. You may want to put the ssh server or OpenVPN server in a DMZ though.