Suggestion - Naming of Things/Items/Points etc

Hello,

I’ve been utilizing OpenHAB for several years and have integrated a significant number of Things and Items into my setup. Throughout my experience, I’ve found the naming conventions for Things, Items, and Channels to be somewhat perplexing, making it challenging to identify the correct components.

To enhance clarity and ease of management, I propose that every Thing, Item, Channel, etc., be assigned a permanent, unique ID alongside a customizable DisplayName. This approach would ensure that while all backend processes, such as Rules, reference the immutable unique ID, the user interface would display the more intuitive DisplayName. This system would streamline identification and modification processes, making the management of components more user-friendly.

The list of Items that I see when I add Items to a Scene looks like this (this is just a small sample of the items):

Alarm (ZWaveNode023GWPN1SinglesocketPowerNode_Alarm)
Alarm (power) (ZWaveNode002NASWR01ZEWallPlugSwitch_Alarmpower)
Alarm (power) (ZWaveNode020FGWP102MeteredWallPlugSwitch_Alarmpower)
Alarm (power) (ZWaveNode007FGWP102MeteredWallPlugSwitch_Alarmpower)
Alert (Magnuslightstripseng_Alert)
AnybodyHome (AnybodyHome)
AutoLight
AutoLightOff
AutoLightOn
Battery Level (ZWaveNode011MotionSensorPIRMotionSensor_BatteryLevel)
Battery Level (Dimmertest_BatteryLevel)
Battery Level (ZWaveNode026_BatteryLevel)
Battery Level (ZWaveNode010MotionSensorPIRMotionSensor_BatteryLevel)
Battery Level (ZWaveNode009MotionSensorPIRMotionSensor_BatteryLevel)
Battery Level (ZWave_Node_027_Hall_Motion_Sensor_Battery_Level)
BedRoom
BjorkHome
Brightness (HaveWall_Brightness)
Brightness (Wc1salhvidhue_Brightness)
Brightness (LightLivingroomHue_Brightness)
Brightness (Hue_WC_Entre_Brightness)
Brightness (Wc1salhvid2hue_Brightness)
Button 1 Indicator (ZWaveNode024ZHC5010FUGAWall4waySwitchwithLEDRelay_Button1Indicator)