Suggestions for Documentation - Introduction section

I’m an OpenHAB3 newbie and have been climbing its learning curve. With that in mind, I wanted to share a few suggestions for the Introduction documentation to make it easier for other new users.

Currently, the “A Quick Overview” provides a high-level relatively abstract definition for the key concepts. Please consider adding a concrete example (e.g., an MQTT-based smart plug with power sensor) to solidify the concepts. Also, I suggest replacing the Sitemap concept with Pages and adding an entry for Points. A picture to visualize how the various concepts relate to each other would be helpful.

I understand and appreciate that OpenHAB is a volunteer effort and would be happy to contribute to the documentation.

3 Likes

The quick overview is not intended to be complete nor is it intended to be comprehensive. All it is supposed to do is define some terms. The next stop is the Getting Started Tutorial and that’s where there are at least three concrete examples explained in detail for each of the OH concepts along with explanations on how they all work together. There is also the Concepts section which the Getting Started Tutorial lists as a prerequisite which goes into more depth on Things, Items, etc as a concept to further elaborate on the concept.

You’ll notice that the MQTT example in the Getting Started Docs is almost as long as the Quick Overview itself. If we add that kind of detail to the Quick Overview, it won’t be quick any more.

But if you’ve more detail about what you are suggesting we are open to discuss it.

Are you talking about the links in the table of the Quick Overview page? I agree, that bottom row should be replaced with a link to User Interface Design Overview | openHAB which is the introduction to MainUI (notice there are eight sections in the docs that discuss MainUI Pages).