Switch from Homematic to Danfoss Living Connect?

Hi all

I have one Homematic thermostat (HM-CC-RT-DN) running, with two major problems:

1. The theromstat is too big, so the cover on the wall doesn’t fit anymore and I would need to build something. And I’m not good with that :wink:
  2. It’s installed in the bedroom and it makes to much noise when regulating. So at the moment, I switch it to 19° during the night and only have it regulate the temperature during the day.

I now came across the Danfoss living connect. I have to check again, but I think this could solve problem 1.
I don’t have any Z-Wave components yet, so I’m looking for any opinions on the Danfoss Living Connect. Is it is as loud as the Homematic ? Is it worth buying a USB Z-Wave dongle ?
Good thing with the Homematic: it’s now directly paired with a Homematic temperature sensor, as the internal sensor is inaccurate. In the new scenario, I would have to create rules in OpenHAB to adjust the thermostat settings. Not sure if it’s worth the effort / money.

Thanks for any insight
Patrick

Sorry I can’t share experiences for the Danfoss thermostat, other than I, too, considered it and it looked to me pretty big, So you really should be sure it fits to solve your problem #1.

I’m using the MAX! series, which is essentially the same as Homematic (same vendor), just the enclosure is shaped a little bit different.
Yes, they’re rather noisy (but to be fair, you may not directly compare them to manually operated ones).
And not sure about Homematic, but at least the MAX! devices don’t move that often.
BUT the biggest point is, I blieve you you will get used to that ‘noise’ pretty soon.
(I, too, easily wakeup from noise, but it does not happen because of thermostats moving).

Now to get zwave is a good idea, especially if you have home automation plans beyond thermostats, but just for the sake
of replacing a single thermostat, I wouldn’t change.