Temperature display for openHAB dashboard with little energy consumption

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: Raspberry Pi 4
    • Java Runtime Environment: 11.0.15 (Temurin-11.0.15+10) (running in Docker)
    • openHAB version: 3.3.0 (running in Docker)
    • ConBee 2 USB stick

Dear community,

I’m still new to the field of home automation/openHAB and looking for some inspiration of how a solution might look like.

My goal is to measure temperatures in different rooms and visualize them. I read a lot about measuring temperatures with Arduino, Raspi and other microcontrollers, but since I already have a ZigBee mesh up and running, I tend to buy a couple of these sensors: Aqara Temperature and Humidity Sensor

After reading some comments on Amazon, they seem to work properly with ConBee, so integrating them into openHAB and creating a custom dashboard shouldn’t be an issue.

However, I have no satisfying idea of how to display this dashboard. Here is my “wishlist” :wink::

• It should be easily accessible so that you can easily see the temperature as you walk by without manually opening/reloading an app or browser.
  • Screen-size should be big enough to display between 5 and 8 different temperatures (outside and rooms).
  • It should consume little energy - using a regular tablet seems like a big overkill since the display should be always on and therefore would consume a lot of power.

Out of a sudden I discovered that my E-Reader has a built-in browser as well - AFAIK those E-Ink displays consume much less power than regular tablet displays. However, I assume that the openHAB dashboard needs to be updated somehow (page reload) - I doubt that the built-in browser supports browser add-ons like Firefox where I can install add-ons to reload a page every 30 seconds.

I’d really appreciate it if you guys could give me some inspiration. Thanks and have a great Sunday!