The simplest introductory example for newbies. Without Hue hub!

General newbie question:
I installed openHOA and working through the tutorial: I’m now at ‘Adding things - simple’.
Sounds great (I like ‘simple’!), but it assumes I have a Hue hub (and bulbs), which I don’t have, nor do I want to spend $50 one one (+ 2 bulbs), considering the device will be discontinued by Philips at April 30th.
(Besides all my smart bulbs right now work without hub, and that’s what I hope to use openHAB for eventually: not having to use 12 different phone apps!).

Wouldn’t it anyway be simpler to have a single smart light bulb and connect THAT to openHOA, as a simple introductory project?
I noticed a Lifx binding, and I have a Lifx smart light bulb.
I think I’ll try to get that to work, but I’m totally new to all this: is there something I’m missing about this being simpler than using that Hue hub? If so, what is the issue, or what should I look for?
Any hints and tips are welcome!

The tutorial provides examples. If you have Lifx bulbs and there is a Lifx add-on, and Lifx can just be installed and discover everything without configuration, use that. The Hue part isn’t the point, it’s the steps and process taken in OH. Hue is just an example.

There are three classes of add-ons in openHAB based on how Things get created (each gets their own page in the tutorial):

1. technologies where all the devices can be automatically discovered immediately
  2. technologies where there is a little bit of configuration required (i.e. create a Bridge Thing) before the devices can be discovered
  3. technologies where everything has to be configured by hand

Hue was chosen as the example for 1 because at the time it was popular and it fits the criteria and the person who wrote most of that page had a Hue system set up.

1 Like

Where did you hear that from?

I think that’s a reference to: