Timestamp minus 2 minutes to trigger an action (Automower, garage door)

Hello experts! I´m struggeling with a rule and handling DateTime items!

My automower is providing an Item PlannerNextStart. At the moment the items state is “2024-03-27T08:00:00.000+0100”.

I want to write a rule that opens my automowers garage door 2 minutes before the mower starts to mow. How to calculate this minus 2 minutes? I really can´t make any progress as this is my first attempt to calculate with DateTime items!

Thank you!

Br,
Mario

Is PlannerNextStart a DateTime item?

Which rule language are you using?

General tip (there are many ways of doing this… but I’m giving you the simpler method I think)

• Create a virtual DateTime item called OpenMowerDoorTime, with timestamp-offset profile.

Example with .items file:

DateTime OpenMowerDoorTime { channel="same:channel:as:PlannerNextStart" [ profile="timestamp-offset", offset=-180 ] }
  • Create a DateTime trigger based on OpenMowerDoorTime item and in the rule action, do what you need to open the door.

Can the automower be started from openHAB, or does it have to be scheduled in the proprietary app?

If you can start it from openHAB, then you can have all of the logic in one place (rather than split between two different systems. Your rule would be triggered at the times you define, open the garage door, and then start the automower.

The main benefit of this is that OH can make sure the door is open before starting the automower. Otherwise, you could have a scenario where your OH server is offline and doesn’t open the door. Your automower isn’t going to know that, though I assume it’s smart enough to not run into the door.

Exactly. I´m using RuleDSL.

Thanks for that hint! I will give it a try.

Yes I can start is from OH directly as well. That´s coming up next.
Thanks for your input! Much appreciated.

So I adopted my items and rules - tomorrow I will see if it works!

Items: