Tips from a Newb for any other total Newb

Hello all,
As a fresh newbie, I had an extremely rough time trying to figure out OpenHab.
As I couldn’t find a one-size-fits-all guide for newbs, I thought I might as well write something to help ease that path for complete rookies like myself.
I have very little programming experience (just scripting here and there), am a long-time user of ubuntu and have never played with smart home systems before now.

I jumped in head first with a Tesla solar system, ev charger, EcoWitt weather station and Shelly smart plugs.

Instead of describing my experience, what I will do is to provide an overview of what I’ve learned, and hopefully, put the facets of OH4 into perspective for anyone new. This isn’t a tutorial, per se, just a helpful guide to get someone started quick(er).

Before starting, it is highly recommendable to make sure you read through this helpful post on the Semantics of OpenHab. It is well worth the read.

HARDWARE:
I installed OpenHab 4 from scratch on a freshly installed ubuntu 23.04 micro ($120 cheapo on Amazon with 6GB RAM and a Celeron CPU, with 256GB SSD). I didn’t go the OpenHabian way because I wanted to be able to scale to more things on this little server in the future, if needed.

If you’re new, I recommend going the OpenHabian route: https://www.openhab.org/docs/installation/openhabian.html

INSTALL:
The guides are very straightforward. If you follow documentation here, you will have no problem setting up OH4. The trouble begins (at least it did for me) with understanding what the heck to do next!

SETUP:
OK, this is where it becomes vital. OH4 is extremely flexible and very Germanic in its configuration. Instead of the typical HomeAssistant -style of making everything easy and semi-automatic, OpenHab is really more like a framework for you to build a system almost however you like it.