TiVo add-on/binding

Hello,
I am very new to openHAB, but so far, I really like it! I have added my Chromecasts using the paper UI, but I’m having trouble connecting it to TiVo. I have already enabled Remote Network Access on the TiVo box. I know it is not listed on the ‘Bindings’ tab in the Paper UI, and that it has to be added using the services/tivo.cfg file.

https://www.openhab.org/addons/bindings/tivo1/

First, I am not completely sure how to configure the tivo.cfg file. If the IP address of my Tivo box is 192.168.1.30, is this how I would configure the file?:

host=192.168.1.30

Next, I created an item for the Info button on the Tivo in the default.items file. Here are the contents of the file:

Switch Tivo_Info “Info” { tivo=“info” }

Then, when the switch is flipped, it should open up info on the Tivo box, but it is not.
Am I doing anything incorrectly, or is there something I’m missing? Any help would be appreciated because openHAB is still very new to me.

Thanks!

Sadly, I think for all intents and purposes the Tivo binding is abandoned. It’s a 1.x version binding that was never tested with and therefore made available to openHAB 2.x through automatic installation (e.g. installed through PaperUI). There is no guarantee that the binding still works. If it doesn’t there is no way to fix it beyond reimplementing it as a 2.x version binding as all development on 1.x bindings is frozen and they will not be supported on OH 3 at all.

I am not certain where/whether these legacy 1.x bindings that no one bothered to test and report that it worked with OH 2 are even built any more. I couldn’t find the jar file anywhere I looked but I don’t know the build system all that well. Perhaps someone can come along and help. If not you may have to build it yourself.