Trying to set up a light timer using 2ch relay board for a garden

I am completely new to this so excuse my ignorance of all this. I have a 2 channel relay board no brand that I know of that I am trying to hook to a Windows 7 computer (although I have a linux system too if it is not possible on Windows.) using openhab to control it. I need my light to come on in the evening and turn off 12 hours later. Okay. So I have openhab and its designer installed and I have accessed my demo files and even edited the sitemap correctly as all the start here places say but I am having a really hard time with connecting the program to the relay. I tried doing the UCProjects.eu relay board binding but I am lost on that page. I uncommented the part in the openhab.cfg file as it sad but I am lost at items and rules and scripts. I understand you have to create new ones you need to write the commands in the text files. I understand that in order to get them ‘connected’, I need to have rules, scripts, items, etc. telling it what to do. But I am unsure of what to write in them to get the relay board to 1 recognize or show in openhab and 2 get it to function. I am not asking for you to do it for me but if someone could get me at the very least in the right direction perhaps? I would be eternally grateful. My husband used to work alot with linux and knew a lot but since his head injuries (as well as much time passing) he has a hard time remembering commands etc. So I am googling everything to try and figure this out for him. I do have basic linux knowledge and like I said some openhab knowledge just not nearly enough. Thank you!!

Lets step back a sec.

How have you/do you plan on wiring the relay to a computer? The relay by itself cannot talk on its own. It just has three wires, power, signal, and ground. When the relay gets 3.5v or 5v on the signal wire it switches to allow the power to go to the output. Otherwise it blocks the power to the output.