Turn off a generic outlet with Alexa/Google Assistant

Hello there,

First of all I am a noob, I don’t have much insight on setting up things with openHAB.

I have an android tv which is connected to a smart plug/outlet, which I can control by Google Assistant and Alexa to trigger ON and OFF.

I would like to automate things a little bit.

I have openHAB 3.2.0 running on a lab machine in my home. This is a docker container on my lab PC’s Alpine Linux.

What I would like to accomplish is, I want to turn off the smart plug when the Android TV turns off. I can get the state of the TV, with either ping or some other implementation. However, this smart plug is a generic one, and can’t be added to openHAB directly.

Can someone offer me a solution to turn off the smart plug by openHAB instruction Alexa/Google Assistant to turn off this.

I have researched for a day, and I have added amazonechocontrol in openHAB, but could not find a way to send text/string to Alexa.

Is it possible to do this via a shell script with curl posting to an URL.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks,
DMJ

Hi
I’m using openhab to control switches via google assistant. However my switches is Z wave and added to Openhab, I also have some ptoxy switches (switches not linked to any channel) jus for triggering my favorites i Yamaha musiccast.

Hence your switches was not able to be recognized by Ooenhab maybe you should have a look at http binding or exec binding if it still exist.

If your tv doesnt have a bindning or other way to post tv status then you could use networkbindning to ping your tv on regular basis.

Hi Marcus,

Thanks much for your reply.

I understand that you are talking about http binding. I am not sure if that’s possible for the switch in question since it may require some sort of authentication which the manufacture does/will not provide.